Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Photographer of the Lost: A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick
Foyalty 24

The Photographer of the Lost: A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick (Paperback)

£7.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

**A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK**



For fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and 1917 comes a moving story about how hope and love will prevail against all odds.



'This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war' The Times

'A touching novel of love and loss' Sunday Times



1921

In the aftermath of war, everyone is searching for answers.



Edie's husband Francis never came home and was declared 'missing, believed killed'. But when she receives a mysterious photograph of him in the post, hope flares and she begins to search.



Harry photographs gravesites on the Western Front, hired by grieving families. Plagued by memories of his last conversation with Francis, he has never stopped searching for his brother.



After years apart, their search brings them together. As they uncover the truth they are haunted by the past and their own complex feelings - towards Francis, and towards each other.



Are some questions better left unanswered?



Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore, The Photographer of the Lost is a beautiful novel, inspired by real events in the wake of the First World War, about love and loss, grief and guilt, and the fleeting, fragile moments of life.



Praise for The Photographer of the Lost:



'There's only one word for this novel... and that's epic... A beautifully written must-read' heat



'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' Sarra Manning, RED



'Terrific first novel' Daily Mail



'Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel' Good Housekeeping



'A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . . told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters' stories' Rachel Hore



'What a wonderful debut novel . . . With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn't stop reading' Lorna Cook



'A sublimely rendered portrait of the search for answers amidst the chaos and devastation left behind in the aftermath of World War 1' Fiona Valpy



'A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind' Fanny Blake



'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' Isabelle Broom



'Beautiful, unflinching: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included... unforgettable' Iona Grey



'Momentous, revelatory and astonishing historical fiction!' Historical Novel Society

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionWar & combat fictionFirst World War fictionFiction & PoetryRomanceErotic FictionHistorical romanceFiction & PoetryRomanceRomance Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd Publication Date: 25/06/2020 ISBN-13: 9781471183119  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Caroline completed a PhD in History at the University of Durham. She has a particular interest in the experience of women during the First World War, in the challenges faced by the returning soldier, and in the development of tourism and pilgrimage in the former conflict zones. Caroline is originally from Lancashire, but now lives in south-west France.

More books by Caroline Scott

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Post Office Girls: Book One in a...
(Paperback)
Poppy Cooper
 
 
£6.99
 
The Sunken Road
(Hardback)
Ciaran McMenamin
 
 
£14.99
 
All the Ways We Said Goodbye: A Novel...
(Paperback)
Beatriz Williams; Lauren Willig; ...
 
 
£9.99
 
Zero Hour: A Novel of the Somme
(Paperback)
Iain Gale
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close