Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Girl Who Reads on the Metro
Foyalty 39

The Girl Who Reads on the Metro (Hardback)

£12.99
Pre-order. Despatched on publication 17/10/2019

Synopsis

The Girl Who Reads on the Metro is the French phenomenon by Christine Feret-Fleury ready to charm book-lovers everywhere, for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.



When Juliette takes the metro to her loathed office job each morning, her only escape is in books - she avidly reads on her journey and imagines what her fellow commuters' choices might say about them.



But when, one day, she decides to alight the train a few stops early and meets Soliman - the mysterious owner of the most enchanting bookshop Juliette has ever seen - she is sure her life will never be the same again . . .



For Soliman also believes in the power of books to change the course of a life - entrusting his passeurs with the task of giving each book to the person who needs it most - and he thinks Juliette is perfect for the job.



And so, leaving her old life behind, Juliette will discover the true power a book can have . . .

Fiction & PoetryFiction in translationFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publication Date: 17/10/2019 ISBN-13: 9781509868339  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Pre-order. Despatched on publication 17/10/2019 Pre-Order

Christine Feret-Fleury began her career as a publisher at Gallimard Jeunesse. In 1996, she wrote her debut children's book, Le Petit Tamour, quickly followed in 1999 by her debut novel for adults, Les vagues sont douces comme des tigres, winner of the Antigone Prize. Since then, she has gone on to write eighty further books, and counting. A prolific reader, she likes to try her hand at each of the many literary genres she enjoys. The Girl Who Reads on the Metro is her first adult novel to be translated into English.

More books by Christine Feret-Fleury

More books by Ros Schwartz

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Bertolt Brecht's Refugee Conversations
(Paperback)
Bertolt Brecht; Tom Kuhn
 
 
£22.99
 
Mouthful of Birds: LONGLISTED FOR THE...
(Paperback)
Samanta Schweblin; Megan McDowell
 
 
£8.99
 
The Wolf and the Watchman: The latest...
(Paperback)
Niklas Natt och Dag
 
 
£8.99
 
Serotonin
(Hardback)
Michel Houellebecq
 
 
£20.00
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close