Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Water Cure
Foyalty 39

The Water Cure (Hardback)

£12.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£12.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.

Synopsis

'Immensely assured, calmly devastating. This is a gem of a novel and I was bowled over by it' - Katherine Angel, author of Unmastered'I loved this book. It rushes you through to the end on a tide of tension and closely held panic. Eerie, beautiful, electric' - Daisy Johnson, author of Fen'Creepy and delightful - it has a pinch of Shirley Jackson, a dash of chlorine, and an essence all of its own' - Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Harmless Like YouHypnotic and compulsive, a blazing literary debut about the brutality of love and the price of survival in a hostile world - for fans of Hot Milk, The Girls and The VegetarianImagine a world very close to our own: where women are not safe in their bodies, where desperate measures are required to raise a daughter. This is the story of Grace, Lia and Sky, kept apart from the world for their own good and taught the terrible things that every woman must learn about love. And it is the story of the men who come to find them - three strangers washed up by the sea, their gazes hungry and insistent, trailing desire and destruction in their wake. The Water Cure is a fever dream, a blazing vision of suffering, sisterhood and transformation.



Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryScience Fiction Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 24/05/2018 ISBN-13: 9780241334744  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Sophie Mackintosh won the 2016 White Review Short Story Prize and the 2016 Virago/Stylist Short Story competition, and has been published in Granta magazine and TANK magazine among others. The Water Cure is her first novel.

See our Author Page for Sophie Mackintosh

More books by Sophie Mackintosh

Customer Reviews

I can see why this novel has been long listed for the Booker prize. It's beautifully written and haunting, exploring themes such as sexual awakening, grief and exploitation. Three girls live on an island with their parents. To them, the way they live is normal, as they have never known anything different, but the adults make their daughters submit to a bizarre set of physical and emotional experiments to keep them 'healthy'. When their father goes missing and two men and a boy arrive, the girls' world changes forever.

- 28/07/2018
Report this Review
Leave Review

Staff Choice

Three sisters live on an island with their mother and a deity-like father they seem to worship. The rites and rituals practiced are there to protect them, and as society slowly decays around them are all the sisters have left, along with each other. And then the men arrive. What follows is a story of what people will go through to cope in a world slowly slipping away and how easy it is to lose oneself whilst doing so. This is a book I continue to admire long after finishing it, delicate and sexual and full of sorrow. The Water Cure is one of the most astonishing debuts I have read.

Matt, Web Team

Charing Cross Rd Bookshop - 23/05/2018

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Xandra Function, The
(Paperback)
Alan Cash
 
 
£8.99
 
Switch Volume 1
(Paperback)
Stjepan Sejic; Stjepan Sejic
 
 
£14.99
 
Not Alone
(Paperback)
Ethan St Clare
 
 
£12.99
 
Frankenstein in Baghdad: SHORTLISTED...
(Paperback)
Ahmed Saadawi; Jonathan Wright
 
 
£9.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close